Minimum Wage Update: CA Wage Floor Rises to $17.40 Per Hour in 2027
California’s statewide minimum wage will rise to $17.40 an hour on Jan. 1, 2027. The increase will also raise the annual salary an employee must earn to qualify for exemption from overtime requirements to $72,384; employees must meet the duties and other requirements for the applicable exemption as well.
Payroll teams should update wage-rate tables, review exempt employees’ salaries and confirm that pay stubs accurately list each employee’s wage rate. Most California employees, including workers paid on a piece-rate basis, must receive at least the applicable minimum wage.
Employers also must post the statewide and applicable industry wage orders where employees can access them. Local ordinances may require a higher rate.
More info: CA Labor Commissioner’s Office
Free Training & Resources
Further Reading
The IRS has revised Form W-4 for 2026, making the newly revised form available to employers during mid-December 2025. The updated form i...
One-week paycheck delays would leave nearly eight in 10 U.S. workers scrambling to cover bills, according to PayrollOrg’s 2025 Getting Pa...
Chicago employers with tipped workers can leave the tipped cash wage where it is — a previously scheduled July 1 step-up is off — f...
Pennsylvania employers face a three-year window for employees to sue over unpaid minimum wages or overtime under state law, rather than the...
State legislators and public interest citizen groups are pushing harder for minimum wage (MW) increases for next year and beyond. Recent ev...
Believe it or not, more than 80% of workers like their employers’ Paid Time Off (PTO) packages. But that doesn’t stop a surpris...