New California Law Increases Financial Penalties for Repeat Pay Data Reporting Failures
California employers that repeatedly miss required pay data reports could face a fivefold increase in maximum financial penalties under a newly signed law.
On Sept. 30, Gov. Gavin Newsom signed SB 1237, increasing the maximum penalty for a subsequent failure to file a required pay data report from $200 to $1,000 per employee. The maximum penalty for an initial failure remains $100 per employee.
The law generally applies to private employers with at least 100 payroll employees and private employers with at least 100 workers hired through labor contractors. For an employer with 1,000 reportable employees, a second missed filing could carry a maximum $1 million penalty.
The higher cap takes effect Jan. 1, 2027, making the May 12, 2027, filing deadline the first filing subject to the new maximum pay data reporting penalty.
More info: CA SB 1237
Free Training & Resources
White Papers
Provided by Anaplan
Further Reading
Washington employers must display a new workplace poster under the state’s Immigrant Worker Protection Act. The state Attorney Gen...
Year-end may seem a long way off, but some changes related to Form W-2 may require your attention now. For example, the Social Security...
Employees with wages exceeding $145,000 in 2023 may hesitate to make catch-up contributions next year. They’ll be impacted by tax cha...
Required preshift tasks – and whether employees are paid for them – are at the center of a former hospital nurse’s wage dispute. C...
The Department of Labor’s independent contractor (IC) rule that went into effect on March 11 is forcing many businesses to triple-che...
For companies allowing health savings account (HSA) contributions via payroll deductions, a recent IRS announcement contains important info...